Dear friend and allies,

The COVID-19 outbreak is not only threatening the health and well-being of Angelenos, but is having social and economic impacts on working families, small businesses and the houseless. Everyone’s well-being, our shared public health, depends on everyone having housing, access to healthcare, and job and food security.

Read our op-ed and see list of endorsing organizations here.

Our leaders must take urgent action to bring relief to our city’s most vulnerable residents and protect ALL Angelenos.

CALL your city council member TODAY and demand that they:

  • Strengthen the eviction moratorium announced last night to: (1) protect renters for longer; (2) not require renters to prove Covid-19 connection as this may be difficult to prove in many cases; and (3) prohibit filing eviction cases, posting eviction notices, or other actions that would require a tenant to appear in court and put their health at risk.
  • Use motels/hotels as emergency housing for the houseless.
  • End 56.11 enforcement to stop criminalization, sweeps and confiscation of properties of houseless Angelenos and instead mobilize public health response, including:
  • ID city buildings and safe parking areas for houseless people and provide sanitation.
  • Provide handwashing stations and porta-potties at all encampments
  • Open up park and recreation facilities and public libraries for houseless people to access restrooms and handwashing.
  • Place a moratorium on evictions for small businesses under commercial leases.
  • Enact a rent freeze on all rental apartments in the City of LA.

ACTION NEEDED

Call Los Angeles City Council members today! Our communities need emergency relief immediately. We need everyone to make calls to City Council members with the following message:

“I am with [name your organization] calling to urge Councilmember [name of your Council member] to strengthen the eviction moratorium to protect renters for longer and not require proof that failure to pay is related to coronavirus, which may be impossible to obtain. All eviction notices served during this state of emergency should be void. Council must immediately end 56.11 enforcement to stop criminalization, sweeps and confiscation of properties of houseless Angelenos and instead mobilize public health response, including:

  • ID city buildings and safe parking areas for houseless people and provide sanitation
  • Provide handwashing stations and porta-potties at all encampments
  • Open up park and recreation facilities and public libraries for houseless people to access restrooms and handwashing

Lastly, Council must enact a rent freeze covering all rental apartments in the City and stop commercial evictions of small businesses. It is critical that our city take action to protect renters and those who are homeless during a global pandemic. Thank you”

Call AND email your council member before this Tuesday’s hearing! Calls are most important:

  • Councilmember Gil Cedillo, CD 1 – (213) 473-7001; Gilbert.Cedillo@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Paul Krekorian, CD 2 – (213) 473.7002; councilmember.krekorian@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Bob Blumenfield, CD 3 – (213) 473-7003; councilmember.blumenfield@lacity.org
  • Councilmember David Ryu, CD 4 – (213) 473-7004; david.ryu@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Paul Koretz, CD 5 – (213) 473-7004; Paul.koretz@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Nury Martinez, CD 6 – (213) 473-7006; councilmember.Martinez@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Monica Rodriguez, CD 7 – (213) 473-7007; couniclmember.rodriguez@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Marqueece Harris-Dawson, CD 8 – (213) 473-7008; councilmember.harris-dawson@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Curren Price, CD 9 – (213) 473-7009; councilmember.price@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Herb Wesson, CD 10 -(213) 473-7010; councilmember.Wesson@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Mike Bonin, CD 11 – (213) 473-7011; councilmember.bonin@lacity.org
  • Councilmember John Lee, CD 12 – (213) 473-7012; Councilmember.Lee@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Mitch O’Farrell, CD 13 – (213) 473-7013; councilmember.ofarrell@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Jose Huizar, CD 14 – (213) 473-7014; councilmember.huizar@lacity.org
  • Councilmember Joe Buscaino, CD 15 – (213) 473-7015; councilmember.buscaino@lacity.org

Healthy LA Coalition

A broad cross-section of organizations around LA have come together to respond to this crisis. Please visit our website for more information and to see endorsing organizations

Posted by act_la